Princess NabilaPhinisi Book now
Princess Nabila Phinisi – Komodo boat charter questions, answered for the person who has to book it

Princess Nabila Phinisi

Komodo boat charter questions, answered for the person who has to book it

Updated 12 October 2026

Princess Nabila carries 25 guests in 21 fixed berths plus extra beds, on a whole-boat charter or as an open-trip cabin every Monday and Friday. These 66 answers cover head counts, cabins, cost, payment, meals, route, weather, park tickets, safety and arrival, each with a figure you can plan with.

Send your head count See the rooming plan

Where the answers come from

Every answer rests on one of four sources: the printed rate cards for 2026 and 2027, the open-trip brochure, the live calendar sheet, and our footage of the boat filmed between March and June 2025. Booking terms are those of PT Komodo Explorer Indonesia. A figure that moves with a price list is pulled from the same data as the price tables, so an answer here cannot disagree with a table elsewhere on the site.

Where nothing is printed, the answer says so. Diet handling, alcohol and a bath in Sumbawa are answered as open items for that reason.

The answers on flights, cash, hospitals and the park were checked against published sources in October 2026. Fares, closures and quotas change, so confirm them before you travel.

Putting your own question to us

Write to us on WhatsApp and open with four facts: head count, dates, nights, cabins. That is the order of the message the contact page pre-fills, and with those four we can answer a cost or cabin question from the printed figures.

Our hours are on the contact page. Questions about price are answered from the printed bands, so give the head count and the number of nights before anything else. Questions about a cabin are answered from the deck plan and the cabin list, so name the cabin or the feature you need, such as a bath, a balcony or no stairs.

If a figure on this page differs from your quote, tell us and we correct the page.

Cabins and rooming

Does each cabin have two beds or three?

Each cabin is sold with a double bed plus a single, so three people sleep in fixed beds. In our footage the single is a pull-out lower bed, seen pulled out in Bali, while Jawa has one wide platform with two armchairs beside it and Sumbawa a two-seat sofa. All seven cabins sit above the waterline, each with its own bathroom and a window on the sea. A fourth guest takes an extra bed in every cabin except Flores, which stops at three.

Which cabin has a bathtub?

Jawa, on the main deck at the stern. The wooden tub stands outdoors on its private balcony and has a gold floor tap. For Sumbawa the rate card lists an outdoor bathtub too, and we confirm it in writing before you book Sumbawa for the bath.

Which cabins have a balcony?

Three. Sumbawa on the upper deck and Jawa on the main deck have a private balcony at the stern, one above the other, and Flores has a recessed side balcony. The other four cabins, Sulawesi and Bali upstairs and Papua and Maluku on the main deck, have a sea window along the bed and no balcony.

Which cabins need no stairs?

Jawa, Papua and Maluku, the three on the main deck. Their route to the restaurant stays on one level. The upper deck and the sun deck are reached by stairs, and there is no lift, so put grandparents and small children on the main deck.

Which cabin suits a light sleeper?

An upper-deck cabin, if the sleeper accepts more motion. Our rule of thumb, not a measurement: the upper deck hears less of the engine and moves more at sea, and the main deck moves less. Jawa sits at the stern beside the galley and hears the most.

How do extra beds work?

A fourth guest in a cabin takes an extra bed, and guests 22 to 25 on the whole boat sleep this way. Flores stops at three. On the open trip a third or fourth person sharing pays the extra-bed rate, and the 2027 fare table prints it for each cabin class. Which cabins carry the extra beds is part of the cabin plan in your quote.

Flights, hotels and arriving

When should we arrive in Labuan Bajo?

The day before sailing, so that a cancelled or delayed flight does not cost the group day one. On the last day, book a flight after 14:00.

What is the pickup window on the open trip?

10:30 to 11:55 on day 1, and the exact time is sent the day before. A private charter picks up at the hour agreed in the confirmation. Pickup from a hotel or the airport, and the ride back, are free on every trip.

Can we upgrade the pickup vehicle?

Yes. The Toyota HiAce carries up to 12 passengers, and for more than that a bigger coach can be requested. Either one is quoted as its own line, outside the fare.

Do you book hotel rooms for the group?

Yes. The hotels page lists the hotels we book for groups, and the hotel confirms the rate for your dates. Rates move with peak season, so the site prints no contract rate.

How do we fly to Labuan Bajo?

Flights reach Komodo International Airport, code LBJ, through Bali, Jakarta or Surabaya, with Lombok and Kupang as smaller feeders. Published block times are about 1 h 10 min to 1 h 20 min from Bali and 2 h 30 min to 3 h from Jakarta. We advise on routes and do not sell tickets. The airport is 2 to 3 km from the harbour.

Where can the group get cash before boarding?

At the ATMs near the harbour on Jl. Soekarno-Hatta and in airport arrivals. There are none in the national park or on the islands, so take cash for tips and small purchases before you board.

Group size and head count

How many people can Princess Nabila carry?

25 guests is the licence. 21 of them sleep in fixed berths across 7 cabins, and guests 22 to 25 sleep on extra beds. The rate card prints the 8 crew and the 25 guests as separate figures.

What is the smallest group that can charter the whole boat?

There is no minimum. The first printed band covers 1 to 5 guests and prices the whole boat, so a couple on 3D2N pays IDR 30,500,000 (≈ USD 1,871) each. For two people the open trip is the cheaper plan, and the compare page shows where the two lines cross.

Our group is 22 people. Do we fit on one boat?

Yes. Seven cabins hold 21 people in fixed beds, the 22nd takes an extra bed in a cabin that has room for one, and the licence stops at 25. Each guest above 20 adds IDR 2,500,000 (≈ USD 153) on 3D2N. Flores takes three at most, so the extra beds go to the other six cabins.

When does the head count have to be final?

Before the deposit, because the quote prices that number. Names and passport details follow with the balance, and the booking steps give the last day we accept them.

What happens if the group grows past 25?

The licence stops at 25 guests, so a larger party needs a second boat. Ask us about a second boat before you fix the head count. The 25 places on this boat keep the printed bands.

How many crew look after the guests?

8 crew: a captain, a cruise director, a chef, an engineer and deckhands. The rate card prints no split by role and no names, so we give neither.

Meals and drinks

Which meals are included?

Breakfast, lunch and dinner as the programme runs, served as a buffet from the island in the restaurant. The open trip adds a snack and a soft drink.

Is drinking water free?

Yes, free-flow mineral water, tea and coffee are included on the open trip and on a charter.

Can the kitchen cook for vegetarians, halal diets or allergies?

The rate card does not state halal, vegetarian, vegan or allergy handling, so we print no guarantee for any of them. Send the diet needs together with the head count. A guest with a severe allergy should raise it before paying anything.

Where do 25 guests sit to eat?

The restaurant seats about 20. It has no dining tables, only wooden counters along the window sides and the inner wall, so a full boat eats in two sittings or takes a meal up to the sun deck. The roof has turf, around a dozen bean bags and wooden benches.

What does the food look like on board?

Buffet, set out on the square island in the middle of the restaurant. A trip filmed in late May 2025 served whole grilled fish on banana leaf, chicken satay, grilled squid, clams with chilli sambal, vegetables with peanut sauce, papaya and pancakes at breakfast. That is the record of one trip, not a fixed menu.

Can we bring our own alcohol or buy it on board?

No alcohol rule is printed, so we state none. Ask us before you buy anything for the group.

Months, sea and weather

Which months have the calmest sea?

Calm seas and high visibility fall in April, May, June, October and November. March, September and December are moderate. July and August bring windier seas and the busiest anchorages. December to March is the wet season, and January and February have the roughest water.

Is July or August too rough for older guests?

Both months are dry with windier seas, and both are peak crowd months. For older guests the main-deck cabins move less and need no stairs to the restaurant.

Is there shade on the sun deck?

No. The turf deck is open to the sky in every month. Covered seats are in the restaurant and under the awning on the open deck at the front of the upper deck.

What if the harbour master closes sailings?

That order is one of the two cases the substitution guarantee covers, so you choose between an equal or higher-class phinisi on your dates and a full refund within 14 days.

When do manta rays appear?

Sightings peak in January, February, July, August, September and December, are good in March, and are fair in the other months. They are never guaranteed. On the day, the captain decides whether Manta Point or Taka Makassar comes first.

What time is sunrise at Padar?

It moves through the year: 06:18 in July and 05:31 in November. The best-months page carries the full table. Shoes with grip matter more than the exact minute.

Open-trip cabins and dates

Which days does the open trip sail?

Every Monday & Friday. The calendar lists only sailings that can still be booked, so a missing date has sailed, filled, or is held for a charter or docking. 122 dates are listed across 2026 and 2027. Each listed date reads Few cabins left or Ask about this date, as of the checked date shown on the departures page.

Can I join for two days instead of three?

Yes. Two-day guests sail the first two days of the 3D2N open trip, which includes Taka Makassar on day 2, and are back at the pier between 19:00 and 20:30 that evening. The 2D1N fare starts at IDR 4,400,000 (≈ USD 270) per person. Three-day guests are back between 10:00 and 11:00 on day 3.

I am travelling alone. Is there a solo supplement?

No solo supplement is printed. A cabin is sold for a minimum of two, so a solo guest who wants the cabin alone pays two shares. The rate card prints no pairing rule. One share on 3D2N starts at IDR 5,150,000 (≈ USD 316).

Are open-trip dates in 2027 really open for booking?

Yes. The 2027 dates follow the same Monday and Friday pattern, and the live calendar already holds bookings. The 2027 fares are printed and sit in the 2027 fare table on the cabins page. A fare change before your balance date reaches you first, and you may cancel without charge.

What does an open-trip fare include?

The boat, transfers both ways, all meals, water, tea and coffee, a snack and a soft drink, mask and snorkel without fins, linen and a bath towel, a local guide, a photo and video set, paddle board, kayak, Starlink Wi-Fi and an ikat cloth to take home. Park tickets and ranger, flights, tipping, personal spending and insurance are extra.

What separates a master cabin from a sea-view cabin on the open trip?

Price and outdoor space. The masters, Sumbawa and Jawa, cost IDR 5,950,000 (≈ USD 365) per person on 3D2N, two sharing, and each has a private stern balcony. Flores is IDR 5,600,000 (≈ USD 344) with a side balcony. The four sea-view cabins cost IDR 5,150,000 (≈ USD 316) and have a window along the bed but no balcony.

Park tickets and permits

Is the park ticket in the fare?

No. Neither the open-trip fare nor a charter fare covers park entrance or ranger fees. A foreign visitor buys a IDR 250,000 ticket for every day spent inside the park.

How are park tickets bought?

Online, through the park system SiOra, in each visitor's name and passport or ID number. Payment is non-cash, so there is nothing to pay at the gate. The name on each park ticket must match the passport.

What do Indonesian citizens pay?

On weekdays an Indonesian citizen pays IDR 50,000 per person per day. On weekends and public holidays the figure is IDR 75,000. The foreign ticket is the same on every day of the week.

Who pays the ranger?

The visitors, as a separate fee, and the park sets what it costs. We quote the ranger fee as its own line, and the park-fees page sets out how it works.

Do we need a permit to fly a drone?

Yes, a park permit. The open trip's documentation set includes drone footage. On a charter a photographer or drone is an extra line, quoted together with the permit.

Can the park close while we are in Komodo?

Yes. Sailings to Komodo and Padar were closed for waves and wind from 6 to 8 August 2026 while Rinca stayed open. The daily visitor allowance has also been cut for the rest of 2026, and the journal post on park tickets gives the figure with its source and date.

Paying and cancelling

How much do we pay up front, and when is the rest due?

The deposit is 50% of the booking. The balance is paid 30 days before departure, and a booking made inside that window is paid in full at once.

What do we get back if we cancel?

Cancel 60 days out or earlier and 50% of the payment is returned. Cancel 59 to 30 days out and 25% is returned. Inside 30 days nothing is returned. A travel policy that covers trip cancellation is strongly advised, because it is the only cover for the part we do not return.

Can we move the date instead of cancelling?

A date change 30 days or more before departure costs nothing, subject to availability. From 29 to 14 days out the fee is IDR 500,000, and a change inside 14 days is handled as a cancellation.

What if the boat cannot sail on our dates?

The substitution guarantee applies. It gives you a phinisi in the same class or in a higher one, on your dates and at no extra cost, or a full refund within 14 days. It covers a breakdown and an order from the harbour or park authority that stops the boat.

Which payment methods do you take?

A rupiah bank transfer, a card payment link, PayPal, Wise or Revolut all work, and so do QRIS, Alipay and WeChat Pay, the last through a payment partner. PayPal carries a 7.2% fee. Say which method you want when you ask for the invoice.

Can the organiser pay for everyone and collect from the group afterwards?

Yes. We issue one invoice to the organiser, and the organiser collects the shares. The invoice carries the company name, the boat, the dates and the inclusions, with 11% VAT inside the price.

Route and daily timing

What does day one of the open trip look like?

Pickup falls between 10:30 and 11:55, and the exact time arrives the day before. After boarding the boat goes to Kelor, then Manjarite, then Strawberry Rock if conditions allow, and ends at Kalong for the flying foxes at dusk. Day one is an afternoon on the water, not a full day, and dinner is on board.

Is Padar on every trip?

On the open trip Padar or Gili Lawa, one of the two, is the first stop of day 2, and the park quota decides which. On a private charter the stops are agreed in the quote.

Do we walk with the dragons on Komodo or on Rinca?

On day 2 of the open trip it is Komodo village or Rinca, one of the two, and the quota decides. Each walk goes with a park ranger, whose fee is extra, as the park-fees page explains. Sightings of wild dragons are never guaranteed.

When are we back in Labuan Bajo?

Open-trip guests on the two-day option are back at the pier between 19:00 and 20:30 on the evening of day 2. Three-day guests are back between 10:00 and 11:00 on day 3, so book a flight after 14:00. A private charter's return time is fixed in the confirmation.

Who decides the stop order and where the boat spends the night?

The captain decides on the day, from the sea conditions and the weather. The rate card states that the route changes with sea conditions, weather and collective agreement. Where the boat spends the night is settled the same way. The park quota settles the either-or stops on the open trip.

Is there Wi-Fi on board?

Yes. Starlink Wi-Fi is fitted. Do large uploads in Labuan Bajo before you board.

Safety, children and health

At what age do children travel free?

Children under 3 travel free, which means ages 0 to 2, when accompanied by a parent or guardian. From age 3 the full price applies.

Is the boat safe for small children?

Put families in the main-deck cabins, which need no stairs to reach the restaurant. The sun deck has a low rail, so a child on the roof needs an adult beside them. Life jackets are on the boat's printed list, and child sizes are not stated, so give us the children's ages together with the head count.

Do I need to be a strong swimmer?

Not for the beach stops. Pink Beach suits every level. Manta Point is different: the current can be strong and it suits confident swimmers. On the open trip the local guide goes with you, and on a charter you ask for the guide line.

Which lifesaving gear is on board?

The printed equipment list names life jackets, life rings, a life raft, AIS and a first-aid kit. In the footage at least six life rings hang on the rails and a fire extinguisher is mounted in the restaurant. Smoke detectors are on the ceilings of the cabins that were filmed.

Are fins supplied for snorkelling?

No. Snorkel sets are a mask and a snorkel, without fins, on the open trip and on a charter, and the 2027 brochure prints No Fins in red. Bring your own pair.

Do we need travel insurance, and where is the nearest hospital?

Insurance is in no fare, and we strongly advise a policy with medical cover and emergency evacuation. Siloam Hospitals Labuan Bajo is the private hospital in town and RSUD Komodo is the public one. In Indonesia 112 is the general emergency number.

Whole-boat charter cost

What does the whole boat cost per person on 3D2N?

For 16 guests the boat comes to IDR 83,500,000 (≈ USD 5,123), which is IDR 5,220,000 (≈ USD 320) each. For 25 guests it is IDR 3,840,000 (≈ USD 236) each. Prices are per boat, in four bands up to 20 guests, and include 11% VAT. At 15 and 16 the head-count line sits close to the cheapest open-trip bed, and from 17 guests it drops below it.

What do guests 21 to 25 add?

One printed amount per guest above 20: IDR 2,500,000 (≈ USD 153) on 3D2N and IDR 1,500,000 (≈ USD 92) on the full day. Those guests sleep on extra beds in cabins that have room for them.

What is not in the whole-boat price?

Four lines: park tickets and ranger fees, a local guide, a photo and video documentation set, and personal spending with tipping. A guide and a documentation set can join a charter as quoted lines. Flights, hotel nights and travel insurance sit outside the fare too.

What does a couple pay for the whole boat?

A couple alone on 3D2N pays IDR 30,500,000 (≈ USD 1,871) each, because the smallest band prices the whole boat for 1 to 5 guests. That is more than five times an open-trip bed each. Two people should look at the open-trip cabins first.

What does a full-day charter cost per head?

For 16 guests the full day comes to IDR 55,500,000 (≈ USD 3,405) for the boat, or IDR 3,470,000 (≈ USD 213) each. The rate card prints a price and no stop list. Our planning sample is the near-islands loop of Kelor, Manjarite and Kanawa with a return before sunset, and the quote fixes the stop list.

Does a 2027 charter cost the same as a 2026 one?

No. The 2027 card is higher on every length from 2D1N to 5D4N and on three of the four full-day bands. The full-day band for 11 to 15 guests is the same on both cards. Both tables sit on the charter page. The 2027 booklet covers January to July 2027, and for later dates the rate is confirmed before any deposit.

Check availability — Princess Nabila

Princess Nabila sails with its own crew, and PT Komodo Explorer Indonesia handles the booking, the payment and the trip file.

WhatsApp Email

WhatsApp
Chat on WhatsApp